Click here to see COVID-19 updates

Liturgical Dates 2020-2021


LinkReturn to Resources Home Page




Sunday Cycle Year B - Weekday Cycle Year I

Sunday Cycle Year B - Weekday Cycle Year I begins on Sunday, November 29, 2020 with the 1st Sunday of Advent.

Date

Liturgical Significance

Sun., Nov. 29, 2020

1st Sunday of Advent        

Tues., Dec. 8, 2020

The Immaculate Conception of the Blessed Virgin Mary  [Solemnity, Holy Day of Obligation]       

Sat., Dec. 12, 2020

Our Lady of Guadalupe  [Feast for the USA] [Solemnity only for Mexico]

Thurs., Dec. 24, 2020

Vigil of the Nativity of the Lord  [Solemnity]

Fri., Dec. 25, 2020

The Nativity of the Lord [Solemnity, Holy Day of Obligation]

Fri., Jan. 1, 2021

Mary, the Holy Mother of God  [Solemnity, Holy Day of Obligation]

Sun., Jan. 3, 2021

The Epiphany of the Lord  [Solemnity]

Sun., Jan. 10, 2021

The Baptism of the Lord  [Feast]

Tues., Feb. 2, 2021

The Presentation of the Lord [Feast]

Wed., Feb. 3, 2021

St. Blaise  [Optional memorial]
Following instructions from the USCCB, the individual blessing of the throat by touching the throat of each person with crossed candles is to be omitted. The priest or deacon may give the blessing to all assembled by extending hands, without the crossed candles, over the people while saying the prayer of blessing.

Wed., Feb. 17, 2021

Ash Wednesday, beginning of Lent

Fri., Mar. 19, 2021

St. Joseph, spouse of the Blessed Virgin Mary  [Solemnity]

Thurs., Mar. 25, 2021

The Annunciation of the Lord  [Solemnity]

Sun., Mar. 28, 2021 

Palm Sunday

Tues., Mar. 30, 2021 

Chrism Mass

Triduum

The Paschal Triduum of the passion, death and Resurrection of the Lord begins with the evening Mass of the Lord’s Supper, has its center in the Easter Vigil, and closes with Vespers on the Sunday of the Resurrection.

Thurs., April 1, 2021

Holy Thursday of the Lord’s Supper

Fri., April 2, 2021

Friday of the Passion of the Lord (Good Friday)

Sat., April 3, 2021

The Easter Vigil in the Holy Night
As Masses should begin no earlier than 30 minutes after sunset, Easter Vigil Mass should begin no earlier than 8:15 PM.

Sun., April 4, 2021

Easter Sunday of the Resurrection of the Lord

Sun., April 11, 2021

Second Sunday of Easter [Divine Mercy Sunday]

Sat., May 15, 2021

Presbyteral Ordination
Time: 10:00 AM
Where: St. Francis of Assisi

Sun., May 16, 2021

The Ascension of the Lord
This solemnity has been moved permanently to the 7th Sunday of Easter for the Archdiocese of San Antonio.

Sat., May 22, 2021

Archdiocesan Pentecost Vigil Mass
Time: 6:00 PM
Where: TBD
Coordinator: Yessica Marval
Email YessicaPhone: 210-734-1653

Sun., May 30, 2021

The Most Holy Trinity

Sat., June 5, 2021

Permanent Diaconate Ordination
Time: 10:00 AM
Where: St. Mark the Evangelist

Sun., June 6, 2021

The Most Holy Body and Blood of Jesus Christ [Solemnity]
The Solemnity of the Most Holy Body and Blood of Jesus Christ is the Sunday after the Solemnity of the Most Holy Trinity.

Fri., June 11, 2021

The Most Sacred Heart of Jesus [Solemnity]

Thurs., June 24, 2021

The Nativity of St. John the Baptist  [Solemnity]

Tues., June 29, 2021

Sts. Peter and Paul, Apostles  [Solemnity]

Sun., Aug. 15, 2021

The Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary [Solemnity]

Sat., Sept. 11, 2021

Transitional Diaconate Ordination
Time: 10:00 AM
Where: TBD

Mon., Nov. 1, 2021

All Saints [not a Holy Day of Obligation]

Tues., Nov. 2, 2021

The Commemoration of All the Faithful Departed (All Soul’s Day)

Sun., Nov. 21, 2021

Our Lord Jesus Christ, King of the Universe  [Solemnity]

End of Cycle Year B - Weekday Cycle Year I



Sunday Cycle Year C - Weekday Cycle Year II

Sunday Cycle Year C - Weekday Cycle Year II begins on Sunday, November 28, 2021 with the 1st Sunday of Advent.

Date

Liturgical Significance

Sun., Nov. 28, 2021

First Sunday of Advent

Wed., Dec. 8, 2021

The Immaculate Conception of the Blessed Virgin Mary  [Solemnity, Holy Day of Obligation]       

Sat., Dec. 25, 2021

The Nativity of the Lord  [Solemnity, Holy Day of Obligation]

Sun., Dec. 26, 2021

The Holy Family of Jesus, Mary and Joseph  [Feast]

Sat., Jan. 1, 2022

Mary, the Holy Mother of God  [Solemnity, Holy Day of Obligation]